"Эстебрюгге"
Expeditions

Estebrugge

25 April 2018 - 5 May 2018

The Underwater Research Center of the Russian Geographical Society’s expedition to the patrol ship of the Imperial German Navy.

The year is 1918. The newly-formed Workers’ and Peasants’ Red Fleet is trying its hand at warfare. The First World War is in full swing. Soviet Russia has already exited the war but Germany is occupying Finland, and German ships are moving closer to Kronstadt. To keep the enemy away from strategic locations, it was decided to create a naval minefield in front of the island of Kotlin. The mines were placed and the surrounding waters turned into a danger zone. And then…nothing. And no one in sight.   

A hundred years ago, the newly-created Red Fleet did not find out about its very first victory at sea. On September 2, 1918, Estebrugge, an auxiliary patrol ship belonging to the German fleet, found itself in the minefield. The duty officers missed the moment the enemy ship hit a mine, so they never reported it and that’s why there was no record of the event in the Soviet archives. The only source of information about this event is German archives.

According to the information discovered in the archives, Estebruggeis a former steam fishing trawler built in 1907. The trawler was then mobilized and armed with artillery. The patrol ship was part of the First Division of theEastpatrol half-flotilla. Ironically, the ship was tasked with preventing Soviet attacks. 

The experts of the URS RGS found this ship by accident while en route to another expedition. Our hydroacoustic equipment showed a bottom anomaly with distinct contours and shadows. At the time, our experts and volunteers were collecting information on minefields from World War I, and our German colleagues shared information about the ships that sank in the Gulf of Finland during that time. Having compared the coordinates, we obtained with archive data, the anomaly was preliminary identified as Estebrugge. And the very first dive confirmed it. 

The 35-meter long hull stands on an even keel at the depth of 24 meters to the north-west of Kotlin. The blast partially destroyed the stern, but the bow and central deckhouse have been well preserved. It seems the ship did not sink immediately, as the hull damage is relatively minor and, according to archive data, only five people perished out of the 60-man crew, while the rest managed to escape.  

In the central deckhouse, the divers found a radio transceiver, engine order telegraph, and other well-preserved artifacts from days gone by. And the gun mounted on the tank is still intact. 

targets and goals
  • ico

    Inspection of the ship’s hull by the divers

  • ico

    Recovery of historically valuable artifacts

  • ico

    Conservation and museumification of the recovered artifacts

Our team will finish the expedition to Estebrugge on Russia’s Divers’ Day (May, 5th), in the year of the centenary of the Workers’ and Peasants’ Red Fleet and the anniversary of the end of the First World War. Now, our experts are conducting a thorough examination of the ship to add it to the Registry of Sunken Ships, a unique database of shipwrecks in the Baltic Sea built by the URC RGS. Artifacts will be recovered conserved and exhibited at the Kronstadt History Museum. 

Team
Сумбат  Александров
Sumbat Alexandrov

Diver-explorer

Read More
Алексей  Дурас
Aleksey Duras

Diver-explorer

Read More
Олег  Медведев
Oleg Medvedev

Diver-explorer

Read More

"Эстебрюгге"
Экспедиции

"Эстебрюгге"

25 апреля 2018 - 5 мая 2018

Экспедиция Центра подводных исследований на сторожевой корабль кайзеровского флота.

1918 год. Только что сформированный состав Рабоче-крестьянского Красного флота пробует свои силы в военном деле. Идет Первая мировая война, Советская Россия из нее вышла, но Германия оккупирует Финляндию, и на Балтике немецкие корабли подбираются вплотную к Кронштадту. Чтобы не подпускать неприятеля к стратегическим объектам, принято решение поставить минное заграждение перед островом Котлин. Красвоенморы задание выполнили, акватория превратилась в опасный «суп с клецками». И…ничего и никого. 

Сто лет назад только что созданный РККФ не узнал о собственной – первой – победе на море. На самом деле, 2 сентября 1918 года в минное заграждение попал вспомогательный сторожевой корабль кайзеровского флота «Эстебрюгге». Дежурные пропустили момент, когда неприятельское судно наскочило на мину, и в рапортах, и, соответственно, в советских архивах, нет ни слова о происшествии. О том, что Красвоенморы Балтики не допустили врага на порог 2 сентября 1918 года, удалось узнать только в немецких архивах.

По найденным данным «Эстебрюгге» — бывший океанский паровой рыболовный траулер 1907 года постройки. Он был мобилизован в состав кайзеровского флота и вооружен артиллерией. Сторожевой корабль входил в состав 1-й дивизии дозорной полуфлотилии «Восток». По иронии, ее задачей было не допустить выход советских судов для атаки. 

Специалисты ЦПИ РГО нашли этот пароход случайно, пока шли в другую экспедицию. Гидроакустическая аппаратура показала донную аномалию с очень четкими контурами и тенями. Коллеги и волонтеры в то время собирали информацию о минных заграждениях Первой мировой войны, а немецкие коллеги поделились информацией о затонувших в этот период в Финском заливе кораблях. Сверив координаты, полученные нами, с архивными – аномалию предварительно идентифицировали как «Эстебрюгге». И первое же погружение подтвердило наше предположение. 

Корпус длиной порядка 35 метров стоит на ровном киле на глубине 24 метра северо-западнее Котлина. Взрывом частично разрушена корма, а вот носовая часть и центральная рубка неплохо сохранились. Судя по всему, затонул корабль не сразу – повреждения корпуса относительно небольшие, а по архивным данным из экипажа, состоящего из более 60 человек, погибло пятеро, остальные же успели спастись.

В надстройке водолазы нашли рацию, машинный телеграф и других свидетелей своей эпохи в хорошем состоянии. А с бака до сих пор грозит пушка. 

цели и задачи
  • ico

    Водолазное обследование корпуса корабля

  • ico

    Подъем артефактов, имеющих историческую ценность

  • ico

    Консервация и музеефикация поднятых артефактов

В столетний юбилей Рабоче-крестьянского Красного флота и памятный год окончания Первой мировой войны, в День водолаза 5 мая наша команда завершит экспедицию на «Эстебрюгге». Сейчас специалисты проводят тщательное обследование парохода, чтобы внести его в Реестр затонувших кораблей – уникальную «базу данных» судов, потерпевших крушение в Балтике, которую собирает ЦПИ РГО. Планируется подъем артефактов, которые, после консервации, станут новыми экспонатами комплекса Музей истории Кронштадта.

команда
Сумбат  Александров
Сумбат Александров

Руководитель водолазной службы

Водолаз-исследователь

подробнее
Игорь  Галайда
Игорь Галайда

Водолаз-исследователь, подводный оператор

подробнее
Иван  Галайда
Иван Галайда

Водолаз-исследователь, подводный оператор

подробнее
Виктор  Булгаков
Виктор Булгаков

Врач водолазной медицины (спецфизиолог)

подробнее
Алексей  Дурас
Алексей Дурас

водолаз-исследователь, судоводитель, стропальщик

подробнее
Олег  Медведев
Олег Медведев

Водолаз-исследователь, судоводитель

подробнее