«Барвон»
Expeditions

Barwon

15 April 2019 - 5 May 2019

The Underwater Research Center of the Russian Geographical Society’s expedition to the English ship that sank in 1857.

Our team is making its way into the waters of the Gulf of Finland surrounding Cape Stirsudden to explore the wreck of Barwon. Last year, we performed several dives to determine the exact location of the vessel based on the coordinates received from the searchers. The location was confirmed, so in 2019 we will explore the passenger/cargo screw steamer in great detail. 

Barwon was built in 1854 in Clyde, Scotland. The ship weighed nearly 500 tons, had a steam-powered speed of 14 miles per hour, passenger capacity of 130, and a tonnage of 400 tons. 

The Sydney Morning Herald dated December 21, 1854, stated that the ship "is one of the most perfect specimens of marine architecture yet produced, as she combines all known improvements, with several which are peculiar to herself. … The keel and stern are formed of one continuous piece of iron, without scarfs or joists; and the bottom of the vessel is double. A watertight platform of iron supports the bilges and forms a second bottom, which would prevent the influx of water should her bottom get cut through as a result of the vessel striking upon rocks. The deck is made unusually strong by the introduction of iron plates bolted to the beams before the ordinary wooden deck is laid down. The purpose of this arrangement is to bring the deck into equilibrium with the bottom of the ship, and to ensure the maximum strength with the least materials. … 

The engine of the Barwon is of a very simple construction and occupies less space than any engine of the same power, which has fallen under our observation. The engine and boiler embody various improvements, of which the main purpose is to economise the consumption of fuel. The screw is of a totally new description, it works with greater efficiency than ordinary screws, and there is very little of the usual vibratory motion at the stern. …”

Of course, a ship with such improvements was highly sought-after in the mid-19thcentury. That is why Barwon changed owners several times. From Scotland, she was sold to Australia to be used as a cargo vessel. Then the British government acquired Barwon to send her to the Crimean War (1853-1856). After the war was over, a private company purchased her to be used as a passenger ship, making voyages to St. Petersburg. 

Unfortunately, the English vessel never entered the Russian port. On August 25, 1857, when Barwon was approaching the capital, it collided with Moscow, a German steamboat. She did not sink right away, after all, "A watertight platform of iron supports the bilges and forms a second bottom, which would prevent the influx of water should her bottom get cut through as a result of the vessel striking upon rocks.” Moscow turned out to be far more dangerous than the hypothetical rocks, and Barwon went down while being towed near Cape Stirsudden. 

She was discovered by search and recovery divers who then shared the coordinates with Andrey Lukoshkov, the URS RGS’s Science Advisor. Last year, our research divers visited the wreck, confirmed the coordinates, and assessed the condition of the hull as ‘medium good’.  The hull has minor damages to it; however, it is important to note that 150 years underwater still takes its toll on the structure. The steamer rests 35m below the surface, on an even keel. Her dimensions are similar to the dimensions of the 19thcentury English ketch that sunk in the waters surrounding Gogland. The English ketch will be the subject of a major expedition in 2019. Thus, the exploration of Barwon is not just a standalone project, it also serves as a rehearsal for the coming expedition to Cupboard.

Team
Александр  Таракановский
Alexander Tarakanovskiy

First Deputy Executive Director

Diver-explorer, underwater camera operator

Read More
Сумбат  Александров
Sumbat Alexandrov

Diver-explorer

Read More
Роман  Прохоров
Roman Prokhorov

Archaeologist, restorer, diver-explorer

Read More
Алексей  Дурас
Aleksey Duras

Diver-explorer

Read More
Александр  Приходченко
Alexander Prikhodchenko

Manned submersibles pilot

Read More
Олег  Медведев
Oleg Medvedev

Diver-explorer

Read More
Степан  Кичко
Stepan Kichko

Head of project and engineering department

Read More

"Барвон"
Экспедиции

"Барвон"

15 апреля 2019 - 5 мая 2019

Экспедиция Центра подводных исследований РГО на английский пароход, затонувший в 1857 году.

Команда выходит в акваторию Финского залива у мыса Стирсудден для погружения на объект "Барвон". В прошлом году по координатам, переданным нам коллегами-поисковиками, были совершены заверочные погружения для уточнения местоположения судна. Все подтвердилось, и в сезоне 2019 года мы подробно обследуем грузопассажирский парусно-винтовой пароход.

"Барвон" был построен в 1854 году в шотландском городе Клайд. Вес почти 500 тонн, скорость судна за счет паровой тяги – 14 миль в час, пассажировместимость 130 человек, грузовместимость 400 тонн.

В The Sydney Morning Herald от 21 декабря 1854 года сообщается, что это судно "является одним из наиболее совершенных образцов инженерной мысли в кораблестроении, поскольку оно сочетает в себе все известные достижения, которые присущи только ему...

Киль и корма сделаны из одного сплошного куска железа, без скосов и балок, а днище судна двойное. Водонепроницаемая железная платформа поддерживает трюмы и образует второе дно, которое должно предотвращать проникновение воды, если "внешнее" дно судна будет пробито при ударе о скалы. Палуба сделана необычайно прочной путем применения железных пластин, прикрученных к балкам, перед укладкой обычной деревянной палубы. Цель этого устройства состоит в том, чтобы привести палубу в равновесие с днищем корабля и обеспечить максимальную прочность при использовании минимума материалов...

Двигатель судна «Barwon» имеет очень простую конструкцию и занимает меньше места, чем любой двигатель такой же мощности, который мы когда-либо встречали. Двигатель и котел воплощают в себе различные усовершенствования, главной целью которых является экономия расхода топлива. Винт имеет совершенно новую схему, он работает с большей эффективностью, чем обычные винты, и создает совсем небольшую вибрацию на корме."

Конечно же судно с такими преимуществами было лакомым куском в середине XIX века. Поэтому "Барвон" перекупали несколько раз. Из Шотландии он отправился в Австралию в качестве торговца, потом его приобрело Британское правительство, чтобы отправить "Барвон" на Крымскую войну (1853-1856 гг.). После завершения боевых действий его выкупила частная фирма для путешествий в Петербург в качестве мирного пассажирского парохода.

Но английское судно в российский порт не вошло. 25 августа 1857 года на подходе к столице "Барвон" сталкивается с немецким пароходом "Москау" (с нем. – "Москва"). Затонул англичанин не сразу – ведь, как мы помним, "водонепроницаемая железная платформа поддерживает трюмы и образует второе дно, которое должно предотвращать проникновение воды, если "внешнее" дно судна будет пробито при ударе о скалы." "Москау" оказался более серьезным противником, чем гипотетические скалы, и "Барвон" затонул уже при буксировке в районе мыса Стирсудден.

Найден он был нашими коллегами, дайверами-поисковиками, которые и передали координаты научному консультанту ЦПИ РГО Андрею Лукошкову. В прошлом году водолазы-исследователи Центра погружались на объект, подтвердили координаты и оценили состояние корпуса как средне-хорошее. Корпус поврежден незначительно, однако, не стоит забывать, что полтора века под водой это все-таки серьезное испытание для конструкции. Пароход лежит на глубине 35 метров на ровном киле, а его размеры схожи с параметрами английского кеча XIX века, затонувшего в акватории Гогланда, на котором в сезоне-2019 будет проводится большая работа. Так обследование "Барвона" становится не только самостоятельным делом, но и репетицией к работам на "Посуднике".

цели и задачи
  • ico

    Создание фотоплана судна

  • ico

    Отработка системы освещения объекта

  • ico

    Отработка нового формата подводной видеосъемки

  • ico

    Отработка грунторазмыва рядом с объектом

команда
Александр  Таракановский
Александр Таракановский

Заместитель исполнительного директора

подробнее
Сумбат  Александров
Сумбат Александров

Водолаз-исследователь

подробнее
Роман  Прохоров
Роман Прохоров

Подводный археолог-реставратор

подробнее
Иван  Галайда
Иван Галайда

Водолаз-исследователь, подводный оператор

подробнее
Виктор  Булгаков
Виктор Булгаков

Врач водолазной медицины (спецфизиолог)

подробнее
Алексей  Дурас
Алексей Дурас

Водолаз-исследователь

подробнее
Степан  Кичко
Степан Кичко

Начальник проектно-инженерного отдела

подробнее
Александр  Приходченко
Александр Приходченко

Пилот ОПА, оператор поискового оборудования

подробнее
Олег  Медведев
Олег Медведев

Водолаз-исследователь

подробнее